Sorry, GCH are now closed – If you have an emergency please call 01452 424344

Domestic Abuse

Domestic Abuse is unacceptable and can occur in any domestic relationship but and can also include abuse between family members – such as honour based violence, forced marriage and female genital mutilation.

Types of abuse are; Psychological, Physical, Sexual, Financial and Emotional and can include coercive control (a pattern of intimidation, degradation, isolation and control with the use or threat of physical or sexual violence), harassment and stalking and online or digital abuse.

Click here for information about dealing with domestic abuse during the period of lockdown. Abuse in any form is unacceptable and help is still available.

Ask for ANI logo to support victims of Domestic Abuse
We are pleased to take part in the ‘Ask for ANI’ scheme.

Help is available:

  • The Survivors Handbook (published by Women’s Aid) offers practical support and information for women experiencing abuse, with simple guidance on every aspect of seeking support.
  • Gloucestershire Domestic Abuse Support Service (GDASS) offers specialised local support for those experiencing abuse. If you are a man or woman living with, considering leaving, or continuing to have problems with an abusive partner in Gloucestershire, you can call GDASS and self-refer in confidence, by phoning 01452 726570 or by emailing
  • The Freephone 24 hour National Domestic Violence Helpline number can be called for advice and assistance on 0808 2000 247.

What happens when you make a report to GCH?

When an incident is reported to us, we will identify a safe method of communication with you and make contact to agree an action plan. We will use the SafeLives Domestic Abuse, Stalking and Harassment risk assessment (DASH) questionnaire to offer the best course of action. We strongly rely on specialist support services and will encourage your involvement with these third parties at the earliest opportunity.